Monday, October 06, 2008

Mouse Genome Informatics Workshop

The Biological and Environmental Sciences Library and the Medical Center Library are sponsoring a two-hour Mouse Genome Informatics (MGI) workshop taught by instructors from the Jackson Laboratory. In this hands-on workshop, you will use MGI to:
  • find mouse models of human disease
  • locate mouse genotypes associated with a specific phenotype
  • identify suppliers of mice carrying a mutation in a gene of interest
  • find gene expression assays and images
  • view terms describing the molecular function, biological process and cellular component of a gene, and retrieve a list of genes annotated with a specific Gene Ontology (GO) term
  • identify single nucleotide polymorphisms (SNPs) and PCR polymorphism specific to selected mouse strains
  • locate suppliers of BAC or cDNA clones
  • download MGI data or perform batch queries
The workshop will be held on Wednesday, November 5th from 9 to 11 am in 023 Bostock Library and is free to Duke faculty, staff, and students. To register, please visit http://library.duke.edu/events/register.do?eventid=1581&occurid=3131.

Labels: , ,

Thursday, September 25, 2008

New! Web of Knowedge Citation Map

ISI Web of Knowledge has rolled out a Beta version of their Citation Map tool. "A Citation Map is a graphical representation that shows the citation relationships (cited references and citing articles) between a paper and other papers using various visualization tools and techniques." You can use the tool to easily see who is citing you or see who you are citing. You can customize the interface and organize the results by year, author, title, institution, country, etc.

You must be on a full record page to see the Citation Map option. To see a full record click on a title from your search results page and look for Citation Map under the journal title.

More information and instructions can be found at:
http://cm.isiknowledge.com/support/help/h_citation_map.html

Labels: , ,

Thursday, September 18, 2008

PubMed Update

National Library of Medicine is working on a PubMed redesign and in the process new features are being tested. These tests may cause you some issues while searching PubMed, read on for a simple solution!

The following features, based on the search query, may be encountered in PubMed in the upcoming weeks:

  • Also Try - Searches done by other users on the same topic for you to try.
  • More PubMed Articles - Other articles that, based on your search terms, may be of interest.
  • Recent Activity - A display of your recent PubMed searches and AbstractPlus views, PubMed Central® searches and Full Text views, Gene database searches and Full Report views.
These resources are being introduced on an experimental basis. They may be made available to a small percentage of users so as to gauge their effectiveness, and may even be presented in different ways in order to see if one format is better than another. Based on what NLM learns they will decide how soon to enable a feature for all users, whether to try a different format, or even to go back to the drawing board.

As a result of these tests, you may have intermittent issues with PubMed losing cookies for your search session. You'll know this happened when you don't see the dukemlib tab above your search results or the DUMCL Online or Stacks buttons on the abstract view. To get your cookies back, simply open a new tab/window or go to the Library's Website and click on MEDLINE to restart PubMed. Don't worry! Your search history will be available from the history tab for 8 hours.

Labels: , , ,

Wednesday, August 06, 2008

Medpedia Coming Soon

Wikipedia for Medicine?

It's coming. Medpedia promises to be the most comprehensive and collaborative medical resource in the world -- a freely available, authoritative online resource for health and medicine. But instead of allowing just anyone to edit its pages, Medpedia requires that anyone who edits or contributes content has an M.D. or a Ph.D. in the biomedical sciences. There is currently a call for participation for organizations to contribute content and for medical professionals to become members. Get involved at http://www.medpedia.com/index.php/Main_Page.

The site is expected to launch in later 2008. For now, there are a few sample pages online at http://www.medpedia.com/index.php/Special:Preview.

Can it live up to its stated goal -- "to create an invaluable clearinghouse for all the best medical information that cuts across disciplines, socio-economic status and geography to provide valuable medical information to anyone, anywhere, at any time"?

Labels: ,

MedEdPORTAL

In 2005 the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) developed and launched MedEdPORTAL as a free publishing venue and dissemination portal to support educators and learners as they create and use on-line teaching materials, assessment tools and faculty development resources. As an internationally available service, MedEdPORTAL facilitates sharing of high quality peer-reviewed educational material and promotes collaboration and educational scholarship across institutions.

Examples of MedEdPORTAL publications include tutorials, virtual patients, cases, lab manuals, assessment instruments, faculty development materials, etc. For example, "360-Degree Communication and Professionalism Assessment Instrument" is an evaluation tool designed to provide an assessment of physicians and residents in the Professionalism and Interpersonal & Communication Skills competencies. The tool also evaluates leadership skills and can be used in CME as a competency assessment measure.

Learn about MedEdPORTAL from the comfort of your home or office by participating in a 45-minute interactive Web conference training workshop. View the upcoming workshops here.

Labels: , , ,

Friday, June 20, 2008

Sneak Peek at the New CINAHL

EBSCO Publishing, which makes CINAHL and other databases available on its EBSCOhost search platform, will be launching an updated version of its search interface sometime in July. EBSCOhost 2.0, as it will be called, will retain the functionality of the current system but offer improvements in limiting features and the way search results are displayed. A beta or preview version of the new interface is now available for testing. To try it out, just follow the links to CINAHL on our Website, click on New Features! in the upper right, then EBSCOhost 2.0 BETA Test Drive. You'll have to choose the database you want to try; the most complete version of CINAHL is "CINAHL Plus with Full Text."

The test version of EBSCOhost 2.0 will demonstrate the variety of upcoming new features, but results (search stategies, selected references, etc.) can only be saved temporarily in the beta version and will NOT carry over to your current "My EBSCOhost" account. (Use your current account in the current interface if you want to be sure you are saving items permanently. For more information about the functionality of the BETA version of 2.0, click here.) When the new system is fully implemented in July, however, any saved searches, personal folders, and folder items stored in your "My EBSCOhost" account will be available. The default search mode for Duke users is Advanced search mode, both in the current interface and EBSCOhost 2.0.

We encourage all CINAHL users to try the new search interface and become familiar with its new features before the official transition to 2.0 in July! If you have any questions, please feel free to Ask a Librarian!

Labels: ,

Monday, June 09, 2008

New Look for Clinical Pharmacology


The new Clinical Pharmacology is here!

The easy-to-use interface features a simple search box and a button for accessing the Drug Identifier (to identify a pill by imprint code, color and / or shape). Drop down menus offer additional features, such as
  • Creating reports, including those for drug interactions, product comparisons, and adverse reactions
  • Finding drugs by indication, adverse reaction, contraindication, and multiple criteria
  • Patient education handouts, now called MedCounselor sheets
  • Resource Center, which includes lab reference values, clinical calculators and drug class overviews
In the new interface, it is also now possible to list all drugs that have black box warnings or drugs with MedGuides. Simply use the "Find / List" drop down menu.

If you have any questions about using the new Clinical Pharmacology, call us at 660-1100.

Labels:

Friday, May 30, 2008

Web of Science Expands Regional Coverage

We're happy to report that the Web of Science coverage recently expanded to include 700 regional journals:
  • 199 from Asia Pacific
  • 364 from the European Union
  • 80 from Latin America
  • 50 from the Middle East and Africa
  • 7 from North America
The complete integration of these new journals builds a bridge between significant regional studies and the global research community - increasing the visibility of topics of regional concern...
Have searching questions? Feel free to Ask Us!

Labels: ,

Wednesday, May 14, 2008

Foreign Language Patient and Consumer Health Information

Need patient information in languages other than English and Spanish?

On May 7, MedlinePlus released a multilingual feature, providing access to health information in languages other than English and Spanish. This new service contains over 2,500 links to information in more than 40 languages and covers nearly 250 topics.

You can navigate the new collection either by language or by topic. In addition, a languages box with a list of language names displays on the English health topic pages. The language names link to information on MedlinePlus in multiple languages for that topic.

You can also use the MedlinePlus search tool to find these pages. A new collection called Multiple Languages appears in the MedlinePlus search results.

Labels: , ,

Tuesday, April 29, 2008

ACS Surgery Debuts

Produced by the American College of Surgeons, ACS Surgery offers authoritative recommendations on current surgical care from over 200 master surgeons and includes over 1,500 drawings, graphs, and photos.

Labels:

Monday, April 28, 2008

Web of Knowledge Enhancements

Better options to refine your results:
  • Exclude results to analyze search results
  • Sort alphabetically or numerically
  • Faster refine with standardized and simplified document type options when searching across all databases.
EndNote Web upgrades:
  • Link to full text of articles directly
  • Designate read/write access for shared folders
Happy Searching!

Labels: ,

Monday, April 14, 2008

PubMed: Saving Into Collections Now One Step



You can now save citations from a PubMed search directly into your MyNCBI Collections using the Send to dropdown menu. Simply place a checkmark next to the citation(s) you want to save and then select Collections from the "Send to" drop down menu. Most pop-up blockers will still block the Collections window before it opens up, but a handy link to open the window is provided in a pink message on the page. Just click on that and you can save the citations into a new collection or append (add) them to an existing collection. If you are not yet signed in to your MyNCBI account, you'll be prompted to do so first.

This used to be a two-step process involving first saving to Clipboard and then saving to Collections. Many thanks to the folks at NCBI for simplifying this process!

For more information on MyNCBI accounts or searching PubMed, contact a librarian at 660-1100 (phone) or dukemclref (IM), or see our PubMed help page.

Labels: , ,

Tuesday, April 01, 2008

Get the Help You Deserve!


The Library has redesigned the Tutorials & Training Web page. Each resource has helpful links organized by type (handout, instruction, etc) so you can easily find the information you need.

View the calendar to see upcoming classes, see instructional videos, download handouts for future reference, or contact a Librarian for more help!

There's something for everyone! Check it out and let us know what you think!

Labels: , ,

Wednesday, March 26, 2008

OvidSP Enhancements

OvidSP will release new platform enhancements on Monday, March 31st. Some of the enhancements include:
  • Annotation Export: You will be able to export search result annotations to standard bibliographic citation managers, such as EndNote®, helping you to organize your research.
  • Search Screen Position: After a search has been executed, the search screen will no longer "jump", causing the search results set to appear at the top of the page. The search box will now appear above the search results set.
  • Non-English Translations: French, German, and Spanish interfaces will be available. View a non-English interface from either the Database Selection page or the Main Search page.

Labels: ,

Friday, February 08, 2008

New Web of Knowledge Interface

Web of Knowledge, which includes Web of Science (WOS), has a new interface. Designed for both the novice and experienced user, ISI offers access to articles in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. One of the most important features you will notice is the "All Databases" tab search (which replaces CrossSearch). This feature allows you to search across all the Web of Knowledge databases. If you prefer to search only one citation database, such as the Science Citation Index Expanded, just click on the "Change Limits and Settings" link to select your database.

Looking for impact factors? You'll need to use the Journal Citation Reports (JCR), another product from Web of Knowledge. Click on the "Select a Database" tab and select JCR to begin your search. For more information on finding impact factors, see our three minute video tutorial.

Labels: , ,

Making PubMed Easier

Our customized version of PubMed has new features! When you connect to PubMed through our Website or through http://www.mclibrary.duke.edu/pubmed, you will now see new tabs for filtering your search results and highlighting of search terms.

Tabs

  • Review: Clicking on this tab filters your results to those citations that are reviews of the literature. Reviews can be comprehensive or cover a very narrow range of the literature. This is a good filter to use when looking for background information on a topic.

  • Systematic Review: Clicking on this tab filters your results to those citations that are in the systematic review subset of MEDLINE. This subset is based on a search strategy that looks for systematic reviews and can sometimes include meta-analyses and reviews of the literature that are not systematic. This is a good filter to use when you are looking for the best evidence on your topic, but be sure to determine whether articles found with this filter are truly systematic reviews.

  • dukemlib: Clicking on this tab filters your results to those articles that are available at the Medical Center Library, either online or in the stacks. Look for the DUMCL Online and DUMCL stacks buttons to determine what format is available for each citation.

Highlighting

  • Search terms are highlighted, as are any MeSH headings to which your terms are automatically mapped.
  • Highlighting does not appear when you combine sets using set numbers, e.g., #4 AND #11.

For more information on PubMed features and search techniques, see our PubMed help information at http://www.mclibrary.duke.edu/training/#pubmed or call the Library's service desk at (919) 660-1100.

Labels: ,

Wednesday, February 06, 2008

Searching CINAHL?

This five minute video tutorial will walk you through a basic CINAHL search using CINAHL Headings. If you have ever done a search and wondered why you aren't finding articles relevant to your topic, then this tutorial is for you! CINAHL headings are the standardized subject terms indexers use to describe an article's content. Using CINAHL headings to search, rather than keywords in the default Advanced Search tab, will allow you to find more articles on your topic, even if it is expressed multiple ways.

Watch the video and learn how using CINAHL headings will make your searches more effective and efficient! If you have any other questions, just Ask a Librarian.

Labels: ,

Tuesday, January 29, 2008

OvidSP Has Replaced Ovid Gateway! (Jan. 31st)

The Ovid Gateway has switched to the new interface, OvidSP, as of January 31st. The Gateway version is no longer available. Ovid is used to search MEDLINE, Books@Ovid, PreMEDLINE, International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA), Journals@Ovid Full Text, HAPI, PsycINFO, and SPORTDiscus.

OvidSP offers several different types of search styles:
  • Advanced Ovid Search(originally called Ovid Syntax) Recommended - Supports Boolean search terms and traditional Gateway searching (maps you to a subject heading in MEDLINE).
  • Basic - Allows you to enter queries using everyday language with results ranked by relevancy.
  • Find Citation - Find a known article using its citation information.
  • Search Tools - Use specific tools, such as trees, permuted index, scope notes, explode, and more to find information.
  • Search Fields - Search using abstracts, author name, ISSN, and other specific criteria.
NOTE: We recommend that you use the default Advanced Ovid Search tab for best results when searching OvidSP.

Don't worry, all of your alerts, jumpstarts, and saved searches will be available in the new interface using your same Ovid login information.

For more information on the new features of OvidSP, see this video produced by Yale's Medical Library (9:36). It discusses the general features of OvidSP such as searching techniques, the results manager, RSS feeds, and browser requirements.

We will keep you updated as we modify our training materials. As always, if you have any questions, please contact a librarian at (919) 660-1100.

Labels: ,

Friday, January 18, 2008

Reminder: Scopus Canceled

This is a reminder that the Scopus database was canceled effective December 2007.

We have a page up to explain the cancellation, what other alternatives there are to Scopus, and other issues.
http://www.mclibrary.duke.edu/databases/canceled/scopus

If you have concerns or questions regarding this cancellation, contact Karen Grigg at grigg012@mc.duke.edu

Labels: ,

Wednesday, December 12, 2007

Finding Journal Impact Factors

We recently created a short (2:49min) video showing the steps involved in finding an impact factor for a specific journal using the Journal Citation Reports database (JCR). http://www.mclibrary.duke.edu/training/jcr/impact_factors

What are impact factors and how could you use them?
JCR provides quantitative tools for evaluating journals. The impact factor is a measure of the frequency with which the "average article" in a journal has been cited in a given period of time. It attempts to measure the relative impact, or importance, of a journal within its specific field. Impact factors are useful in applying for tenure, grants, or in deciding where to publish.

Labels: , ,

Monday, December 03, 2007

E-Journals & E-Books page changes


If you have ever tried to access a resource while off-campus and not logged into the VPN, then you know what happens. Access Restricted. But many times you aren't given an explanation.

Now our Web server will check on the location (i.e. IP address) of visitors to our e-book or e-journal pages. So if you are coming from a non-Duke IP address, a message will display at the top. The message will explain that access will be limited and will offer a link to our Remote Access information page. For more information on the VPN and how to get access to Duke resources while off-campus, see our Remote Access page. Note: This script is not actually controlling access to any resources - it is merely informative for users with non-Duke IP addresses. After all, you'd want to know why you can't see a journal wouldn't you?

Journal Abbreviation Search
Also in the picture you will see a new search box for journal abbreviations. Looking to see what Rev Med Chil stands for? Don't guess! Now you can enter your search query, press the Go button, and a new window will open containing the search results from NCBI. If you have JavaScript turned off, the search results will open in the same window, replacing the e-journals page, but the Back button will return you to our site.

Hope this helps clear up why you can't access a resource and how to find out journal abbreviations. As always, we welcome your comments and suggestions!

Labels: ,

Friday, November 09, 2007

Looking for Clinical Trials?

ClinicalTrials.gov has launched a new interface to improve navigation. This is its first big change since 2000. ClinicalTrials.gov is the NLM-developed Web-based registry of clinical research studies.

"It provides patients, clinicians, researchers, and other members of the general public with access to information about interventional and observational studies including clinical trials of drugs, devices and other interventions. As of August 2007, ClinicalTrials.gov contained over 44,000 clinical research studies in all fifty states and in 150 countries."

Now a search box with four navigation links at the top right of each page has replaced the menu bar, allowing new searches for studies to be launched at any time. New features provide users with different options to display results lists and study information based on their needs.

Labels: ,

Clinical Pharmacology is getting a new look!



Clinical Pharmacology (CP) will be switching to a new interface. We will have access to both the current version of CP and the new interface until March 31, 2008. This is a great opportunity to become more familiar with the new interface.

UPDATE: The Library will continue to link you straight to the classic version as not all of the patient education handouts (now called MedCounseler Sheets) have been updated and moved to the new interface. But you can always move to the new platform sooner!

More about the new version...

CP's user interface and functionality have been completely redesigned, making it extremely intuitive and easy for you to get to the information you need for fast answers. The new Control Panel in Clinical Pharmacology feature enables you to easily search for information, start a reports, find patient education materials, or other resources all from one place. Each area is grouped together in convenient drop-down menus.

The Drug IDentifier feature now has its own button and is available on every page! Need to accurately identify unknown tablets and capsules? Use the Drug IDentifier search on a characteristic (shape, color, or imprint) and see a list of possibilities with images!

We will keep you updated as we receive more information and modify our training materials. If you have any questions, contact a librarian at 660-1100.

Labels: ,

Wednesday, October 24, 2007

OvidSP is Unveiled!

OvidSP is scheduled to launch on Thursday, October 25, 2007. Remember, you will have access to the new OvidSP platform as well as the current Ovid Gateway Platform.

What Will You See in Ovid Gateway on October 25th?
Access to OvidSP will be available by 7:30 am. Just click on the "Try OvidSP!" link. This link will be on every page in Ovid and will take you to the new interface.

We will have access to both the current version of the Ovid Gateway Platform and the new OvidSP interface until February 2008. This is a great opportunity to become more familiar with the new interface. For more information on OvidSP, see this blog post.

Labels: ,

Friday, October 19, 2007

Ovid is Getting a New Look!

Ovid will be switching to a new easy-to-use interface named OvidSP. This new interface will be available beginning October 25th. We will have access to both the current version of the Ovid Gateway platform and the new interface OvidSP interface until February 2008. This is a great opportunity to become more familiar with the new interface. But you can always move to the new platform sooner!

OvidSP promises an "intuitive new search interface and better user workflow tools for a more powerful, simplified, and faster search experience." Don't worry, all of your alerts, jumpstarts, and saved searches will be available in the new interface.

For those Ovid users who prefer the current version, you will still be able to access it through the new version via "Ovid Syntax," which will look similar to the current version of Ovid.

We will keep you updated as we receive more information and modify our training materials. As always, if you have any questions, contact a librarian at (919) 660-1100.

Labels: ,

Thursday, October 18, 2007

MedlinePlus gets a new search engine!

The National Library of Medicine released a new search engine for MedlinePlus, MedlinePlus en español and the NLM Library Web site. NLM selected search engine software from the Pittsburgh-based company Vivisimo which allows for easier and more efficient navigation.

The new search results feature enhanced relevance rankings and boldface search words in context, to help users select the best Web documents for their queries. An integrated spell checker suggests alternative search terms and spelling corrections.
The new search engine also expands queries using synonyms specific to the sites and medical synonyms from the NLM Unified Medical Language System (UMLS).

The default display for search results is a comprehensive list of "All Results," from all areas of the site. Users can also focus their search on one part of the site by navigating to individual collections of results, such as "Drugs and Supplements," "Medical Encyclopedia," "Online Exhibits" and "NLM Web Archives."

(Adapted from the National Library of Medicine news story.)

Check it out at: http://medlineplus.gov/

Labels:

Monday, October 08, 2007

Finding Guidelines

The National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC) has a list of stored searches to help you find guidelines related to frequently requested topics. Click here to see these stored searches.
The topics listed below reflect critical focus areas of the healthcare community, including priority areas of the Institute of Medicine (IOM) and Healthy People 2010. The primary focus areas are arranged alphabetically. You can also use NGC's Detailed Search to create your own search of the NGC database.

Topic Areas:
  • Arthritis, Osteoporosis, and Chronic Back Conditions
  • Bioterrorism
  • Cancer
  • Chronic Kidney Disease
  • Diabetes
  • End of Life Care
  • Food Safety
  • Heart Disease and Stroke
  • HIV
  • Immunization and Infectious Diseases
  • Injury and Violence Prevention
  • Maternal, Infant, and Child Health
  • Mental Health and Mental Disorders
  • Nutrition and Overweight
  • Oral Health
  • Patient Safety
  • Physical Activity and Fitness
  • Respiratory Diseases
  • Sexually Transmitted Diseases (STDs)
  • Substance Abuse
  • Tobacco Use
  • Vision and Hearing

For more information on the National Guidelines Clearinghouse, or to speak with a librarian, call 660-1100.

Labels: ,

Tuesday, August 07, 2007

New folder option available for CINAHL!!

The CINAHL (Cumulative Index for Nursing and Allied Health) database is provided on the EBSCO platform. My EBSCOhost is a tool available in EBSCO to manage items collected and saved during a search session. (You must sign up for a free EBSCOhost account first.)

My EBSCOhost allows you to:
  • save your search results

  • save journal and search alerts (Have a journal's table of contents emailed to you!)

  • save a search strategy

  • save links and Web pages

How will personalized folders help you?
You now have the ability to create multiple folders to organize and store your items. "The multiple folder option gives users the ability to create numerous folders, each on a particular topic, for example, in which various results can be sorted and stored. Users customize the name of each folder and determine which folders nest within other folders, to maximize efficiency when managing saved items."



For more help, call the Library at 660-1100 and ask to speak with a librarian. We're happy to help!

Labels: ,

Friday, March 02, 2007

UpToDate Search Capabilities Expanded!

UpToDate implemented some changes that will help you find the information you need faster.
  1. Search multiple concepts at a time
  2. View the topic review indexes from the results screen
  3. See other terms suggested at the top of your results screen
1. UpToDate now allows you to search on multiple concepts at the same time (e.g. migraine and stroke). In the past, you were forced to search with only one concept and then narrow the results by adding another concept. Being able to type in multiple concepts in the search box saves you time!

2. See anything different about the search results screen? You'll still see the results listing the topic reviews, but as you mouse over the titles, you'll see the topic outlines in the same screen on the right. This allows you to quickly scan over the index, deciding which topic review fits your needs.

3. UpToDate is getting smarter! You may notice after you do a search that a broader term may be listed at the top of your search results. For example, if you decided to add contraceptives to your search of stroke and migraine, UpToDate would suggest that you consider the broader term oral contraceptives. Click on that term if you'd like to switch terms.

Questions about UpToDate or any other database? Reference librarians are here to help you!

Labels:

Database of the Month-The Cochrane Library

About CochraneLibrary

The Cochrane Library, offered by Wiley Interscience, contains a collection of evidence-based medicine databases. Users have access to about 1,600 full text articles reviewing healthcare effect. The database is updated every 3 months with new and revised reviews, and links to MEDLINE abstracts and ISI Web of Science. Articles are cross referenced so that readers can move from a reference in a review to the cited journal articles. Cochrane also uses Wiley Interscience Alerting Services.


Labels: