add this

We're Sorry but has been Canceled.

Why did the Library cancel AltHealth Watch?
The Library is facing another budget reduction of $100,000 for fiscal year 2008. Read our June 2007 newsletter article for more information.

What should I use instead of AltHealth Watch?
  • Natural Standard, which aggregates and synthesizes data on complementary and alternative therapies, includes monographs on herbs and supplements, and conditions and practices. Monographs are based on literature searches and include a grading system to indicate the strength of the evidence available.
    Search Natural Standard Now
  • MedlinePlus is the National Library of Medicine's consumer health database. It provides information on conditions, diseases, and wellness; generic and brand name drugs; dictionaries of medical terms; directories of doctors, dentists, and hospitals; and links to other resources, including organizations, libraries, publications, news sources, databases, and more. Interactive health tutorials, with animated graphics and sound, are provided from the Patient Education Institute. Complementary and Alternative Medicine can be retrieved as a health topic. Website also available in Spanish.
    Search MedlinePlus Now
  • PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's search service for accessing bibliographic information. It includes MEDLINE (1950 to the present), a premier database containing references to journal articles in the life sciences with a concentration in biomedicine. MEDLINE is indexed using Medical Subject Headings (MeSH), so be sure to use the appropriate MeSH vocabulary when conducting your search. To limit your search to those articles that are about alternative and complementary therapies, click on the Limits tab, then select Complementary Medicine from the Subsets menu. Click Go to apply the new limit to your search.
    More Information on PubMed
    Search PubMed Now
  • Health Source - Consumer Edition provides searchable full-text coverage of consumer health journals, abstracts, and indexing for general health, nutrition and professional health care publications. It includes information on alternative medicine and essays in the areas of pediatric health, senior health, women's health and sports medicine.
    Search Health Source - Consumer Edition Now
    For more academic information, see Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
  • Search the E-Journals page under the subject "Complementary Therapies" and you will find journals that are available electronically (check the specific years you are interested in).
    Search for E-Journals using the subject Complementary Therapies Now

Need More Help?
If you need further assistance in searching any other databases, please don't hesitate to contact us at http://www.mclibrary.duke.edu/services/refform.html. We can set up a consultation to assist you with your specific needs.