add this
Databases

 Need More Help?


 ACP Journal Club

Produced by the American College of Physicians, ACP Journal Club's general purpose is to select articles from the biomedical literature that report original studies and systematic reviews warranting immediate attention by physicians attempting to keep pace with important advances in internal medicine. ACP Journal Club provides structured abstracts and commentary by clinical experts for the studies included in the database. Please note: Use of this database is restricted to Duke IP addresses.

 ACP Medicine

Written and updated by a team of primary care physicians, this evidence-based resource delivers fast, current answers on the best clinical care. It includes coverage of the 11 subspecialties of internal medicine, plus key topics in women's health, preventative medicine, psychiatry, and more. Please note: Use of this database is restricted to Duke IP addresses.

 ACS Surgery

Produced by the American College of Surgeons, ACS Surgery offers authoritative recommendations on current surgical care from over 200 master surgeons and includes over 1,500 drawings, graphs, and photos. Organized in a "body-system" format, it contains over 100 decision-making algorithms that diagram the diagnostic and therapeutic pathways for virtually every condition of interest to general surgeons. Please note: Use of this database is restricted to Duke IP addresses.

 Ageline

Produced by the American Association of Retired Persons (AARP), Ageline provides bibliographic references and original abstracts for materials related to aging and middle age. Journal articles, books, book chapters, reports, and government documents are included from an interdisciplinary perspective of psychology, economics, sociology, gerontology, public policy, business, health care services, and consumer issues. Please note: Generic access is restricted to Duke IP addresses.

 Biological Abstracts (BA)

Includes biological and biomedical research information. (Meeting abstracts are NOT included in this version). Please note: Use of this database is restricted to Duke IP addresses.

 Books@Ovid

Searchable electronic versions of clinical reference texts. DUMCL currently contains access to the following resources: Carpenito: Nursing Care Plans & Documentation, Fischbach: A Manual of Laboratory & Diagnostic Tests, Nettina: Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice, Woods: Cardiac Nursing, Jonas: Essentials of Complementary and Alternative Medicine, Metheny: Fluid and Electrolyte Balance, Schultz: Lippincott's Manual of Psychiatric Nursing Care Plans, Karch: Lippincott's Nursing Drug Guide, Dudek: Nutrition Essentials for Nursing Practice, Speer: Pediatric Care Planning, Weinstein: Plumer's Principles and Practice of Intravenous Therapy, and Singleton: Primary Care. Please note: Generic access is restricted to Duke IP addresses.

 CINAHL (nursing/allied health)

Access to CINAHL via Ovid ceased the end of June, 2007. CINAHL is now available via the EBSCOhost search system.

CINAHL via EBSCOhost

The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) database provides authoritative coverage of the journal literature related to nursing and allied health. CINAHL also indexes healthcare books (including the publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing), nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, educational software, and audiovisual materials, along with selected journals in the areas of consumer health, biomedicine, and health sciences librarianship.

Use of this database is restricted to Duke IP addresses or Virtual Private Network (VPN) accounts. A personal account may be created using the My EBSCOhost feature.

 Citation Indexes see Web of Science

 Clinical Pharmacology Online

Includes the Complete Monograph Service, Index Search, Drug Interactions Report, Intravenous Admixtures Report, and Patient Information Utility. Follow the link above for more information on each component of Clinical Pharmacology Online. Please note: Use of this resource is restricted to Duke faculty, staff, and students.

 ClinicalTrials.gov

This database, developed by the National Library of Medicine (part of the National Institutes of Health), provides patients, family members, and members of the public with current information about the location of clinical trials, their design and purpose, criteria for participation, and, in many cases, further information about the disease and treatment under study. Included are more than 4,000 federal and private medical studies involving patients and others at over 47,000 locations nationwide.

 The Cochrane Library 

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision making. It is produced by the Cochrane Collaboration, an international network of individuals and institutions committed to preparing, maintaining, and disseminating systematic reviews of the effects of health care. In addition to the full-text PDF versions of the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews for both complete reviews and protocols (reviews currently being prepared including the background, objectives and methodology), The Cochrane Library provides information from other systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations, and individual clinical trials - all the current evidence in one single environment with advanced searching options. Please note: Use of this database is restricted to Duke IP addresses.

 Community of Science (COS)

Provides access to a variety of databases and services of interest to researchers, including the COS Funding Opportunities database (available research grants and other types of awards), COS Expertise database, COS Funding Alert service, COS Funding News updates, Funded Research database (active research projects funded by NIH, NSF, SBIR, USDA, and MRC-UK), U.S. Patents database (since 1975), Commerce Business Daily, and Federal Register. Please note: Use of this service is restricted to Duke IP addresses. No username and password are required for database searching.

 Directory of Published Proceedings (DoPP)

The Directory of Published Proceedings references more than 280,000 records of published conference proceedings in science, engineering, medicine, social sciences, and humanities. It can be used to locate future conferences, congresses, meetings and symposia, as well as records associated with specific authors and titles.

 Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed)

This peer-reviewed database list drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It is fully referenced and includes data on maternal and infant levels of drugs, possible effects on breastfed infants and on lactation, and alternate drugs to consider.

 Electronic Residency Application Service (ERAS)

This service transmits residency applications, letters of recommendation, Dean's Letters/MSPE, transcripts, and other supporting credentials from applicants and medical schools to residency programs using the Internet.

 ERIC

Assembled by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC provides citations, with abstracts, to journal and report literature in all aspects of educational research. Includes the full text of ERIC Digests, more than 1,000 two-page documents prepared by ERIC specialists which provide an overview and citations to more detailed information on specific topics. Covers 1966 to present. Please note: Use of this database is restricted to Duke IP addresses.

 Exam Master Online

Exam Master Online is a Web-based tool for practicing and studying for the United States Medical Licensing Examination (USMLE) and a number of medical boards, including Family Practice, Internal Medicine, Pediatrics, Surgery, Obstetrics and Gynecology, and the Special Purpose Examination (SPEX). Please note: Initial registration from a computer with a Duke IP address is required. Once you register, Exam Master will issue you a password, which can be used to access the program from any location.

 FREIDA (Fellowship and Residency Electronic Interactive Database)

Web version of the Graduate Medical Education Directory (Green Book). Designed to assist students, residents, and fellows in finding suitable graduate medical education programs. Please note: the Website is open to anyone for browsing and printing program information, but label printing can only be done by AMA members.

 GenBank

GenBank is the NIH genetic sequence database, an annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences. It is part of the International Nucleotide Sequence Database Collaboration, which is comprised of the DNA DataBank of Japan (DDBJ), the European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL), and GenBank (at NCBI). These three organizations exchange data on a daily basis.

 Global Health

This public health database has more than 1.2 million records of which 40% are unique and over 95% contain informative abstracts. Produced by CABI Publishing, it contains information from over 3,500 serials, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, patents, theses, and electronic only publications from more than 150 countries. Subject coverage includes international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene, occupational health, toxicology, health services, and maternal/child health. It features material from Abstracts on Hygiene and Communicable Diseases, Review of Medical and Veterinary Entomology, Tropical Diseases Bulletin, and Nutrition Abstracts and Review. Please note: Use of this database is restricted to Duke IP addresses.

 Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) provides information on measurement instruments in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information sciences. Included are questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, and tests. Please note: Generic access is restricted to Duke IP addresses.

 Health Source - Consumer Edition

Provides searchable full text coverage of consumer health journals, abstracts, and indexing for general health, nutrition and professional health care publications. Includes essays in the areas of pediatric health, senior health, women's health and sports medicine. For more academic information, see Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition. Please note: Use of this database is restricted to Duke IP addresses.

 Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

Provides full text and indexing for scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Includes the USP DI Volume II: Advice for the Patient and Stedman's Medical Dictionary. For information from popular magazines, see Health Source - Consumer Edition. Please note: Use of this database is restricted to Duke IP addresses.

 HISTLINE

The National Library of Medicine's HISTLINE database, which has provided historical citations to international works since the 1970s, has migrated to the PubMed search interface for journal articles and to LOCATORplus for books. Please note the searching insructions below.

Journal articles - historical journal citations are searchable in PubMed
Once you have entered your search in PubMed, you may limit it by using the subject subset, History of Medicine, located on the Subsets pull-down menu on the PubMed "Limits" screen. This subset can also be used in a search as history [sb]. Example: tuberculosis AND history [sb] Please note: sb should be entered in brackets.

Books - historical monograph citations are searchable in LOCATORplus
Enter your search term in the LOCATORplus "Search For" box. You may then limit your retrieval by choosing the HMD Collection option in the "Quick Limit" box and clicking on the Search button at the bottom of the Simple Search menu.

 Historical Images in Medicine (HIM)

The Medical Center Library's Historical Images in Medicine (HIM) collections encompass over 3,000 photographs, illustrations, engravings, and bookplates from the history of the health and life sciences.

 images.MD

This database was canceled in August 2008 due to budget cuts. Read more....

 IndexCat (NLM)

The Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon-General's Office (Index-Catalogue) is a multi-part printed bibliography or list of items in the Library of the Surgeon-General's Office, U.S. Army. It contains material dated from the 1400s through 1950 and is an important resource for researchers in the history of medicine, history of science, and for clinical research.

 International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA)

This database provides worldwide coverage of pharmaceutical science and health related literature for drug therapy, toxicity, and pharmacy practice, as well as legislation, regulation, technology, utilization, biopharmaceutics, information processing, education, economics, and ethics as related to pharmaceutical science and practice. Please note: Generic access is restricted to Duke IP addresses.

 IRIS (Illinois Researcher Information Service)

A user-friendly graphical interface to the IRIS funding-opportunities database and the IRIS OPS (Online Periodical Service) database of selected items from the Commerce Business Daily and The Federal Register. Please note: Use of this database is restricted to Duke IP addresses.

 Journal Citation Reports (Journal Impact Factors)

A comprehensive and unique resource tool that allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 7,000 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries. This resource shows the most frequently cited and highest impact journals in a given field. Please note: Use of this database is restricted to Duke IP addresses.

 MD Consult

MD Consult provides access to 37 medical texts, over 500 peer-reviewed clinical practice guidelines, and texts from articles in 47 medical journals, including Clinics of North America and the American Journal of Emergency Medicine. In addition, MD Consult provides an update service, summarizing articles in recent medical journals and highlighting articles that patients may be reading in the popular press.

You are not required to register or enter a User Name and Password to access MD Consult. Those already registered may continue to enter their User Name and Password by choosing the "Log in" link on the top right corner of the opening MDConsult screen. Choosing this option will also allow you to get a personal account, if you wish to create a profile. Please note: Use of this resource is restricted to Duke IP addresses.

 MEDLINE (via Ovid/PubMed)

Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, the MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. The Library provides access to MEDLINE through 2 resources:

  • Ovid MEDLINE
    • Generic Access is available (no password required), but a user must connect from a machine with a Duke IP (Internet Protocol) address.

    • Personal Accounts (username and password) are also available for Duke faculty, graduate students, and DUMC staff and students who need to save search strategies, order copies of articles while searching, or connect from non-Duke IP addresses. Click here for an application form.

  • PubMED
    • PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's search service that provides access to over 11 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other related databases, with links to participating online journals. No password is required. This connection provides links to DUMCL's full-text journal subscriptions and holdings of the print collection.

 MEDLINEplus (consumer health)

Produced by the National Library of Medicine, this consumer health database includes information on health topics (conditions, diseases, and wellness) and generic and brand name drugs; dictionaries of medical terms; directories of doctors, dentists, and hospitals; links to other resources, including organizations, libraries, publications, news sources, databases, and more. Interactive health tutorials, with animated graphics and sound, are provided from the Patient Education Institute. It also allows free searching of MEDLINE, NLM's database of citations to articles in professional biomedical journals, using NLM's PubMed search system. MEDLINEplus has a companion site with health information in Spanish. The information in MEDLINEplus can also be reached from NC Health Info, which offers access to Websites of local health services, providers, and programs serving residents of North Carolina.

 MICROMEDEX Healthcare Series

This suite of clinical databases includes information related to drugs, acute care, toxicology, and patient education. Access to a PDA version (mobileMICROMEDEX) is also available. Please note: Use of this database is restricted to Medical Center workstations with Duke IP addresses and Virtual Private Network (VPN) accounts for the Duke University Health System..

 Natural Standard

This database, founded by clinicians and researchers, contains evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. For each therapy covered, a research team systematically gathers scientific data and expert opinions. Please note: Use of this database is restricted to Duke IP addresses.

 NC Health Info

NC Health Info is a collection of Websites of health care providers, services, and programs in NC with direct links to authoritative health information from the National Library of Medicine's MEDLINEplus consumer health Website.

 NLM Databases & Electronic Resources

The National Library of Medicine (NLM) provides a wide variety of resources related to the biomedical and health sciences, including searchable databases, bibliographic citations, full text (when available), archival collections, and images.

 Nursing Books@Ovid

Searchable electronic versions of clinical reference texts. DUMCL currently contains access to the following resources: Carpenito: Nursing Care Plans & Documentation, Fischbach: A Manual of Laboratory & Diagnostic Tests, Nettina: Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice, Woods: Cardiac Nursing, Jonas: Essentials of Complementary and Alternative Medicine, Metheny: Fluid and Electrolyte Balance, Schultz: Lippincott's Manual of Psychiatric Nursing Care Plans, Karch: Lippincott's Nursing Drug Guide, Dudek: Nutrition Essentials for Nursing Practice, Speer: Pediatric Care Planning, Weinstein: Plumer's Principles and Practice of Intravenous Therapy, and Singleton: Primary Care. Please note: Generic access is restricted to Duke IP addresses. The Library is licensed for one simultaneous user per book.

 OLDMEDLINE

Produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), OLDMEDLINE contains citations published from 1953 through 1965 in the Current List of Medical Literature and the Cumulated Index Medicus covering the fields of medicine, preclinical sciences, and allied health sciences. Unlike MEDLINE, these records contain no abstracts nor Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) data from NLM's current controlled vocabulary. The Library provides access to OLDMEDLINE through 2 resources:

  • Ovid OLDMEDLINE
    • Generic Access is available (no password required), but a user must connect from a machine with a Duke IP (Internet Protocol) address.

    • Personal Accounts (username and password) are also available for Duke faculty, graduate students, and DUMC staff and students who need to save search strategies, order copies of articles while searching, or connect from non-Duke IP addresses. Click here for an application form.

  • PubMED
    • Once you have entered your search in PubMed, you may limit it by using the subject subset, OLDMEDLINE for Pre1966, located on the Subsets pull-down menu on the PubMed "Limits" screen. This subset can also be used in a search as oldmedline [sb]. Example: aspirin AND oldmedline [sb]. Please note: sb should be entered in brackets and the Limits box should be unchecked if you have used previous subset limits. This connection provides links to DUMCL's full-text journal subscriptions and holdings of the print collection.

 Ovid Databases

Includes access to MEDLINE, Books@Ovid, International Pharmaceutical Abstracts, Journals@Ovid Full Text, PreMEDLINE, and PsycINFO. Please note: Data from AIDSLINE, BioethicsLine, and HealthSTAR have been incorporated into MEDLINE. Please note: Generic access is restricted to Duke IP addresses.
    Generic Access is available (no password required), but a user must connect from a machine with a Duke IP (Internet Protocol) address.

    Personal Accounts (username and password) are also available for Duke faculty, graduate students, and DUMC staff and students who need to save search strategies, order copies of articles while searching, or connect from non-Duke IP addresses. Click here for an application form.

 PEDro (Physical Therapy)

Produced by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy, PEDro (Physiotherapy Evidence Database) has been developed to give rapid access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews, and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. Most trials on the database have been rated for quality to help you quickly discriminate between trials which are likely to be valid and interpretable and those which are not.

 PILOTS Database (Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress)

This database is an electronic index to literature worldwide on post-traumatic stress disorder and other mental-health consequences of exposure to traumatic events. Produced by the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder and maintained by Dartmouth College, it is freely available to the public. No account or password is required.

 PreMEDLINE

PreMEDLINE provides basic citation information and abstracts for the most recent articles, before they are fully indexed and put into MEDLINE. Coverage includes all languages and all citations currently "in-process" for MEDLINE. These citations, which do not go through NLM's quality control process, remain in PreMEDLINE until MeSH terms and other indexing data are added. Once completed, the indexed records are added to the weekly MEDLINE update and the PreMEDLINE records are deleted. Please note that Ovid's version of PreMEDLINE is updated weekly. If currency is an issue, you may want to search PubMed, which contains daily updates of PreMEDLINE records. Please note: Generic access is restricted to Duke IP addresses.

 PsychiatryOnline

This Web-based portal provides access to a variety of psychiatric resources including the DSM-IV-TR® and the American Journal of Psychiatry. Textbooks, self-assessment tools, and clinical and research news are also included. Please note: Use of this database is restricted to Duke IP addresses.

 PsycINFO

The PsycINFO database covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Coverage is worldwide and includes references and abstracts to journals, dissertations, book chapters and books in the English language. Popular literature is excluded. Please note: Use of this database is restricted to Duke IP addresses.

 PubMed

PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's search service that provides access to over 11 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other related databases, with links to participating online journals. No password is required. This connection provides links to DUMCL's full-text journal subscriptions and holdings of the print collection.

 SciFinder Scholar

SciFinder Scholar provides easy access to a variety of information offered by the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases back to 1907. Please note: Access is available to Duke users via the Web, but special software is required to use the database.

 SPORTDiscus

SPORTDiscus covers both serial and monographic literature in the following areas of sport: recreation, exercise physiology, sports medicine, coaching, physical fitness, the psychology, history and sociology of sport, training, and conditioning. Please note: Generic access is restricted to Duke IP addresses.

This database switched to the EBSCO platform in June 2008.

 TOXLINE

TOXLINE (Toxicology Literature Online) is the National Library of Medicine's extensive collection of online bibliographic information covering the biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals. References are drawn from various sources grouped into two major parts --TOXLINE Core on PubMed and TOXLINE Special -- both of which operate under versatile search engines offering a variety of search and display capabilities. Information from TOXLINE is also retrievable using ToxSeek, a meta-search engine covering many different toxicology and environmental health information resources.

 Toxseek

ToxSeek is a meta-search engine for simultaneous searching of many different toxicology and environmental health information resources from Toxnet (includes TOXLINE), the National Institutes of Health, other US government agencies, and international sources.

 Unbound Surgery

Authored by 100 expert content contributors from top surgery programs, this digital resource combines evidence-based medicine, an online textbook, and multimedia technologies to offer detailed, focused answers to diagnostic and therapeutic surgical questions. It includes videos, diagnostic images, tables, graphs, and a personal library for saving information. A PDA version is also available. Please note: Use of this database is restricted to Duke IP addresses. Registration is required.

 UpToDate (campus only)

UpToDate is a clinical information resource designed for retrieving concise and practical answers needed at the point of care. Please note: Use of this database is restricted to Medical Center campus only. VPN accounts and virtual PIN stations cannot be used for access, regardless of location.

 Web of Science (Citation Databases)

Through its unique and powerful combination of citation indexing and Web technology, the ISI Citation Databases allow current and retrospective searching of quality, peer-reviewed journals, providing complete bibliographic data, full-length author abstracts, and cited references. Please note: Use of this database is restricted to Duke IP addresses.

 WorldCat

Use this resource to search for popular books, music CDs, and videos — all the physical items you're used to getting from libraries. In addition, many new kinds of digital content may be available, such as downloadable audiobooks. You may also find article citations with links to their full text; authoritative research materials, such as documents and photos of local or historic significance; and digital versions of rare items that aren't available to the public. Check with DUMCL to borrow items found in WorldCat.

 WorldCat FirstSearch

Contains more than 40 million records describing items owned by libraries around the world. Describes books, computer data files, computer data files, computer programs, films and slides, journals, magazines, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, newspapers, sound recordings, and videotapes. WorldCat does not list articles from journals, books, newspapers, etc. Please note: Use of this database is restricted to Duke IP addresses.