Databases
Databases that contain drug information, drug trials, chemicals, poisons, hazardous substances, MSDS and household products

ATSDR (Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry) Priority List of Hazardous Substances

Prioritization of substances based on a combination of their frequency, toxicity, and potential for human exposure at National Priorities List (NPL) sites. Format: Website    Provider: Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR)

CenterWatch

A listing of more than 41,000 industry and government-sponsored clinical trials as well as new drug therapies recently approved by the FDA. The site is designed to be a resource for patients interested in participating in clinical trials as well as for research professionals. Format: Website    Provider: Thomson

ChemBioFinder

Use this Website to search for common types of chemical compounds. Indexed by chemical name, molecular formula, molecular weight (for some chemicals), and CAS registry number. Format: Website    Provider: CambridgeSoft Corporation

Clinical Pharmacology

Includes the complete monograph series, drug interactions, drug comparisons, drug identification, and patient education materials. Format: Database    Provider: Clinical Pharmacology
Use of this resource is restricted to Duke faculty, staff, and students.

DrugBank

The DrugBank database is a unique bioinformatics and cheminformatics resource that combines detailed drug (i.e. chemical, pharmacological and pharmaceutical) data with comprehensive drug target (i.e. sequence, structure, pathway) information. The database contains nearly 4300 drug entries. Please cite: Wishart DS et al., DrugBank: a comprehensive resource for in silico drug discovery and exploration. Nucleic Acids Res. 2006 1;34 Format: Database    Provider: University of Alberta

Drugs@FDA

A searchable catalog of approved and tentatively approved prescription, over-the-counter, and discontinued drugs, including drug approval letters, labels, and review packages. Information on the FDA's approval process can be found here. Format: Website    Provider: U.S. Food and Drug Adminsitration (FDA)

Epocrates Online

A free online database that provides information for more than 3,300 generic and brand name drugs, including interactions, pricing information, pictures, and health insurance and Medicare Part D formulary information. Format: Database   

Haz-Map

HazMap is an occupational medicine toxicology database for physicians, PAs, occupational health nurses, and industrial hygienists to assist with recognition of occupational illnesses caused by hazardous chemicals in the workplace. Also available at http://www.haz-map.com/. Format: Website    Provider: National Library of Medicine

Household Products Database

Health & safety information on household products: the product, ingredients, MSDS. Format: Database    Provider: National Library of Medicine

MICROMEDEX

This suite of clinical databases includes information related to drugs, acute care, toxicology, and patient education. Database titles include DrugDex, PDR, POISINDEX Managements, REPRORISK, Summary Documents, Martindale's, MSDS from USP, TOMES and DISEASEDEX. Access to a PDA version (mobileMICROMEDEX) is also available. Format: Database   
Restricted to Duke IP addresses

Natural Standard

Natural Standard aggregates and synthesizes data on complementary and alternative therapies and includes monographs on herbs and supplements, conditions and practices. Monographs are based on literature searches and include a grading system to indicate the strength of evidence available. Format: Database   
Use of this database is restricted to Duke IP addresses. Remote access (outside Duke) is only available via the Virtual Private Network (VPN) for the Duke University Health System.

WebWISER

WISER is a system designed to assist first responders in hazardous material incidents. WISER provides a wide range of information on hazardous substances, including substance identification support, physical characteristics, human health information, and containment and suppression advice. Format: Database    Provider: National Library of Medicine