In addition to the individual resources, you may also search across databases using Entrez, the life sciences search engine.
The goal of this joint project between EMBL-EBI (European Molecular Biology Laboratory-European Bioinformatics Institute) and the Sanger Centre is to develop a software system which produces and maintains automatic annotation on eukaryotic genomes. There is also a useful list of resources grouped together under Human Genome Central.
Format: Database
Provider: Sanger Institute
Entrez allows you to retrieve molecular biology data and bibliographic citations from the NCBI's integrated databases including: 1) DNA sequences from GenBank, EMBL, and DDBJ; 2) Protein sequences from Swiss-Prot, PIR, PRF, PDB, and translated protein sequences from the DNA sequence databases; 3) Genome and chromosome mapping data; 4) Three-dimensional protein structures derived from PDB, and incorporated into NCBI's Molecular Modeling Database (MMDB); and 5) PubMed bibliographic database containing citations for nearly 9 million biomedical articles from the National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE and pre-MEDLINE databases. An Entrez Tutorial is also available.
Format: Database
Provider: National Center for Biotechnology Information
Implemented to organize information about genes, serving as a major node in the nexus of genomic map, sequence, expression, protein structure, function, and homology data. Entrez Gene replaces LocusLink. Identifiers established by LocusLink (known as LocusID) have been retained in Entrez Gene as the GeneID.
Format: Database
Provider: National Center for Biotechnology Information
GenBank, the NIH genetic sequence database, is an annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences. It is part of the International Nucleotide Sequence Database Collaboration, which is comprised of the DNA DataBank of Japan (DDBJ), the European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL), and GenBank at NCBI. These three organizations exchange data on a daily basis.
Format: Database
Provider: National Center for Biotechnology Information
A publicly funded medical genetics information resource developed for physicians, other healthcare providers, and researchers, available at no cost. This database has consumed GeneClinics to improve user interface. The site includes: GeneReviews, clinic directory, laboratory directory and educational materials.
Format: Database
Provider: GeneTests
This database is the online version of the Mendelian catalog of human genes and genetic disorders. Also available in print: QZ50 M21m
Format: Database
Provider: National Cener for Biotechnology Information
Catalog of human genes and genetic disorders containing textual information, pictures, and reference information. It also contains copious links to NCBI's Entrez database of MEDLINE articles and sequence information.
Format: Database
Provider: National Library of Medicine
Single international repository for public data on the 3-dimensional structures of biological macromolecules. The contents are primarily experimental data derived from X-ray crystallography and NMR experiments. PDB is constantly updated as new structures are deposited by the international scientific community. Note: Historic inconsistencies in the way data are reported within PDB files may lead to unexpected or incomplete results when searching, particularly for text-based information.
Format: Database
Provider: Rutgers University