Global Health -- Databases
Databases for finding articles, research and statistical information related to health issues

Africa-Wide: NiPAD

Provides multi-disciplinary coverage about African including medicine, politics, history, economics, business, mining, development, social issues, anthropology, natural history, literature, language, law, music and much more. Sources indexed include theses, dissertations, journals, current research, popular magazines, reviews, monographs, pamphlets, government publications, maps, microforms, newspapers, books, and music recordings. Incorporates three databases' content: African Healthline African Studies and South African Studies. To limit to medical content, use the Database Subset limit and select African Healthline. Format: Database    Provider: EBSCOhost
Restricted to Duke IP addresses

African Index Medicus (AIM)

Improved access to what has been published on health issues in African countries. Very few African health and biomedical information sources are included in the world's leading bibliographic databases and there is a wealth of untapped information in books, reports and studies from international development agencies, nongovernmental organizations and local institutions. Format: Database    Provider: MedWebplus

Encyclopedia of Global Health

Online encyclopedia of global health topics. Format: Website   
Use of this resource is restricted to Duke faculty, staff, and students.

Global Health (database)

Formerly CAB Health; 1973-Present - 1 million records of which 95% contain abstracts. Indexes 3500 serials, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, patents, theses, electronic only publications and hard to find items from over 125 countries. In addition to comprehensive coverage of the core public health literature, it includes significant unique content (compared with the other mainstream health databases) particularly in the areas of tropical medicine, infectious diseases, vector control, food safety and epidemiology. Links to open source full-text journals. Format: Database    Provider: EBSCO

HINARI

The Health InterNetwork Access to Research Initiative (HINARI) provides free or very low cost online access to the major journals in biomedical and related social sciences to local, not-for-profit institutions in developing countries. Format: Website    Provider: World Health Organization

Index Medicus For Eastern Mediterranean Region (EMR)

EMR Index project started in 1987 by indexing the health and biomedical journals published in the Region in 1984. The EMR Index Medicus database has become current and as up to date as the journals themselves, which for the first time can provide a current awareness service to what has been published in the Region. Format: Database    Provider: World Health Organization

Index Medicus for the South-East Asian Region (IMSEAR)

IndexMedicus for South East Asia Region (IMSEAR) is a database of articles published in selected journals at WHO South East Asia Region. It is a collaborative effort of participating libraries in Health Literature, Library and Information Services (HELLIS) network in the region. Format: Database    Provider: World Health Organization

Indian Medlars Centre

A centre jointly set up by National Informatics Centre (NIC) and ICMR to cater to the information needs of medical community of India. A government funded bibliographic database of Indian biomedical journals. Format: Database    Provider: National Informatics Centre

Latin American and Caribbean Center on Health Information (LILACS)

BIREME - Latin American and Caribbean Center on Health Sciences Information in Sao Paulo, Brazil, is the regional health library for the Americas of the Pan American Health Organization (PAHO), Regional Office of the World Health Organization (WHO) for the Americas. Format: Database    Provider: World Health Organization

PubMed

PubMed is a service of the National Library of Medicine that includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1940s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources. MY NCBI service allows users to save and update their search strategies. Includes a tutorial. Format: Database    Provider: National Library of Medicine

WHO Statistical Information System (WHOSIS)

The guide to health and health-related epidemiological and statistical information available from the World Health Organization Format: Database    Provider: World Health Organization