Databases

ACP Journal Club

This Website comprises the cumulative electronic contents of ACP Journal Club's bimonthly print edition since its inception in 1991, with recurrent weeding of out-of-date articles. The content is carefully selected from over 100 clinical journals through reliable application of explicit criteria for scientific merit, followed by assessment of relevance to medical practice by clinical specialists. Format: Database   
This is a fee-based service.

BestBETS: Best Evidence Topics

BestBETs were developed in the Emergency Department of Manchester Royal Infirmary, UK, to provide rapid evidence-based answers to real-life clinical questions, using a systematic approach to reviewing the literature. Format: Website   

Clinical Evidence

Clinical Evidence is a compendium of evidence on the effects of common clinical interventions published by the BMJ Publishing Group. It provides a concise account of the current state of knowledge, ignorance, and uncertainty about the prevention and treatment of a wide range of clinical conditions based on thorough searches of the literature. Format: Database    Provider: British Medical Journal
This is a fee-based service.

Clinical Knowledge Summaries

Clinical Knowledge Summaries are an up-to-date source that can help healthcare professionals and patients in managing the common conditions generally seen in primary and first-contact care. Provided are concise summaries on how to manage almost 500 clinical situations (scenarios) commonly encountered in primary and first contact care. These Clinical Summaries are underpinned by detailed up-to-date clinical knowledge on common acute and chronic diseases, and disease prevention. Additionally CKS offers:
  • Patient information developed by NHS Direct that compliments the clinical knowledge
  • Highlights of Cochrane reviews published in the recent issue of the Cochrane Library
  • One sentence facts from the Cochrane Library
  • Information on the incidence of common infectious diseases
  • Feature on primary care laboratory testing
Format: Database    Provider: SCHIN Ltd and EBSCO Publishing for NHS England

Cochrane Collaboration

The Cochrane Collaboration is an international organization that aims to help clinicians make well informed decisions about health care by preparing, maintaining and ensuring the accessibility of systematic reviews of the effects of health care interventions. This Website provides access to all of the abstracts of the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. Searching is by words in the title. Free access to abstracts of Cochrane Systematic Reviews; fulltext databases requires a subscription. Format: Website    Provider: Cochrane Collaboration

eMedicine

eMedicine is an information portal that provides access to peer-reviewed content for diseases and disorders. Information is arranged by specialty and includes CME and patient education materials. Format: Database   

InfoPOEMs and InfoRetiever

POEM stands for Patient-Oriented Evidence that Matters. POEMs have to meet three criteria: address a question that clinicians face; measure outcomes that our patients care about: symptoms, morbidity, quality of life, and mortality; and have the potential to change practice. InfoRetriever searches across all Cochrane Systematic Review abstracts, 220 decision rules, almost 2,500 predictive calculators, 775 summaries of evidence-based practice guidelines, and more. Plus, the full 5-Minute Clinical Consult, including photos. Format: Database   
This is a fee-based service.

MD Consult

MD Consult provides access to 48 medical texts in 29 specialties, current peer-reviewed guidelines covering hundreds of conditions and procedures, patient education materials (including Spanish-language handouts), and texts from articles in 33 medical journals, including Clinics of North America and Lancet Oncology. In addition, MD Consult provides an update service, summarizing articles in recent medical journals and highlighting articles that patients may be reading in the popular press. Format: Database    Provider: Elsevier Inc.
Use of this resource is restricted to Duke faculty, staff, and students.

Medscape

Medscape from WebMD offers clinicians access to a medical information portal that offers MEDLINE, CME, current information by specialty, textbooks, and summaries from medical conferences. Format: Database   

Merck Medicus

This Website, sponsored by Merck & Co., provides an advertising-free medical portal to many important Websites, including MDConsult, Harrison's Online, Dxplain, Practice Guidelines and MEDLINE. Format: Database    Provider: Merck & Co., Inc.

NC AHEC Digital Library

The NC AHEC Digital Library (ADL) includes access to full-text journals and textbooks, Ovid databases such as MEDLINE and CINAHL, comprehensive health information sites such as MDConsult, links to drug information and health news, patient education materials, and continuing education opportunities. Anyone can access the AHEC Digital Library as a guest: just enter "guest" as the username and "guest" as the password. However, certain licensed resources are only available to ADL members. (ADL individual membership in North Carolina is $100.00 per year.) Format: Website    Provider: NC AHEC
This is a fee-based service.

PEDro: Physiotherapy Evidence Database

PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. It has been developed to give rapid access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. Most trials on the database have been rated for quality to help you quickly discriminate between trials which are likely to be valid and interpretable and those which are not. Format: Database   

PubMed

PubMed is a service of the National Library of Medicine that includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1940s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources. MY NCBI service allows users to save and update their search strategies. Includes a tutorial. Format: Database    Provider: National Library of Medicine

RelaxDoc

The site allows doctors to discuss work, blog, interact in topical communities and chat rooms, access DynaMed and Medline Plus, read news feeds, and more. The site also offers its members special discounts-for example, on vacations and goods-from major retailers.RelaxDoc.com is a private, online community created exclusively for physicians. It is a highly selective portal for physician-pertinent content, offering physicians the opportunity to network, find information and access services that meet both their professional and personal needs. Format: Website    Provider: RelaxDoc LLC

TRIP Database

This database searches across over 70 Websites of "evidence-based" healthcare resources available on the internet. It includes access to abstracts from current journals, Cochrane Systematic reviews, POEMS, and other important resources. Format: Database   

UpToDate

This is a practical clinical reference designed to provide fast access to thousands of original topic reviews written by experts who address specific clinical issues and provide detailed recommendations. Format: Database   
This is a fee-based service.